The Complete Halazone Series

Written by: Taghreed Najjar, Illustrated by: Lujaina Aseel,


The “Halazone Series” is based on a six-year-old girl called Jude who introduces the reader to her family and friends. The series consists of 10 stories that deal with everyday issues in the life of a child for example not wanting to sleep early, having mixed feelings about a sibling, watching scary movies, complaining about homework, telling the truth …etc. The writer uses humor to present the situations in the story. Children and their parents empathize with Jude because they feel that she is “just like them”. Jude and her family have starred in their own puppet shows and delighted children with their antics. The Complete Halazone Series includes 10 books at a discounted price, along with a gift of; stickers, a bookmark, and Jude & Zaid characters for coloring.

Titles of the books in this series are:

1  I am Amazing

2  I Can!

3  Don’t Worry Dad

4  Not Yet

5  The Lie that Got Bigger

6  Watch Out Jude

7  My Brother Zaid

8  One Dark Night

9  Why Should I Sleep Early

10  Jude’s New Bicycle

Additional information
ISBN 9789957040635
Binding Box of 10 Books
Pages 28
Age Range 3+
Year of Publication 2012
Weight 0.1076 kg
Dimensions 17 × 5 × 24 cm

Reviews (0)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Complete Halazone Series”

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About the Author: Taghreed Najjar

Taghreed Najjar is a pioneer of modern children's literature in Jordan. A graduate of the American University of Beirut,Taghreed started her career as a teacher before becoming a full time writer of picture books and young adult novels. Her YA novels have been celebrated widely by her readers and various schools in the region have adopted them as part of their curriculum. A number of her books have won awards while others have been translated into foreign languages like English, Swedish, Turkish, French and Chinese.  
One of her most critically acclaimed works is a series of ten picture books revolving around six-year old Jude and her family and friends.'The Halazone Series', deals with everyday childhood issues which are treated with humor and deftness by the author. One of Taghreed’s pet projects was collecting old Arabic children rhymes and publishing them in book and digital form to make them accessible to the modern child and family of today. She published two collections of rhymes, the latest entitled 'Musical Tickles' was selected by the National Centre for Children's Literature (a service of the French National Library) as one of the best publications in the Arab World in 2012/2013.

Taghreed is a member of the Jordanian Writer’s Association and takes part in international and regional conferences and workshops that deal with children literature.

About the Illustrator: Lujaina Aseel

Loujaina Al-Assil studied Visual Communication and Interior Design at the Faculty of Fine Arts at Damascus University. She has been working in the field of illustration since 1969 and has also supervised the art production in several children magazines in Syria and other Arab countries. Since 2001, she has been the artistic advisor of children's books at the Syrian Ministry of Culture and has hosted six individual painting exhibitions in Syria, Jordan, France, and Italy. In addition to her art exhibitions, Lujaina has taken part and contributed in regional and international books fairs around the world and has presented several lectures and supervised many workshops in the field of children's book illustrations in Italy, Kuwait, Sharjah, Lebanon, Tunis, and Syria.